top of page

Waldorf University/Iowa Association of Professional Fire Chiefs Lt. Eric Hosette Memorial Scholarship

The Iowa Association of Professional Fire Chiefs are proud to announce a partnership with Waldorf University in Forrest City, Iowa in the creation of the Waldorf University/Iowa Association of Professional Fire Chiefs LT. Eric Hosette Memorial Scholarship.  The scholarship provides funding for the on-line program and is intended to promote higher education for Iowa’s fire service members. The scholarship provides 60 credit hours or 24 months of classes, whichever comes first. The potential value of the scholarship is $17,000 and the scholarship may be used in any of Waldorf’s on-line programs. The scholarship will be awarded annually.

Application/Eligibility Requirements

Applications are due by 5 p.m. on the first Monday in February with the award being made at the Spring IAPFC Conference.

The scholarship is open to any person who is an active member in good standing of a State, County, Municipal, Community, Industrial, Tribal or Federal Fire Department located within the State of Iowa who has obtained firefighter certification recognized by the Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau.

High School Diploma or GED

A high school transcript, GED certificate, or former college transcript;

Letters of Recommendation

Be of good moral character as attested by two letters of recommendation.  The two letters must be submitted with the application and one letter must be from the applicant’s Fire Chief


Complete an essay of not more than 1,250 words and submitted in Microsoft Word format (Do not use department names or personal references within the essay).  The essay must answer the following items:

  • Why you believe this scholarship will be useful to you as a firefighter or a fire officer;

  • How your pursuit of higher education will enhance leadership in the emergency services in Iowa;

  • How your pursuit of this scholarship will demonstrate Waldorf’s values of service, community, critical inquiry, and lifelong learning.​

Picture, Video and Recording Usage Consent

Agree to release Waldorf University and the IAPFC to use your name, story, photo, etc. on any marketing materials in relation to the scholarship.  Click here for the release form


An interview before the selection committee may be required.

Be sure to fill out application completely.  All documents MUST be attached when submitted. 

Use the application checklist to ensure you have everything required.

Still have questions?  Email Newton Fire Chief Jarrod Wellik

The application process is currently closed.  

Scholarship Winners


Joshua Schutt


West Des Moines Fire Dept.


Jesse Coulson


Dubuque Fire Department


Chandler Thayer


Waukee Fire Department


Ray Reynolds


Nevada Fire Department


Phil Arensdorf


Dubuque Fire Department


Karen Tapper

Shift Commander

Ames Fire Department


Matt Lehman


West Des Moines Fire Dept.


Brooks Burkhart

Cedar Rapids Fire Department


Jeramie Eginoire

Senior Medic

Des Moines Fire Department


Paul Koenig


Cedar Rapids Fire Dept.


Mathew K. Powers


Hiawatha Fire Department


Dan Birkett
Urbandale Fire Department

bottom of page